GBAC Brush Strokes Awards Wrapup

What a successful evening it was! Those who were there, thank you for coming and making it “work”! Those of you who missed it, you missed a great evening with good food and great camaderie among the guests, recipients and others. No doubt that the attendees all feel that the arts are the way to go! A special thanks to Cheryl Kuck, our Brush Strokes Awards Chairwoman.

Congratulations to all of the 2011 Brush Strokes Awards Winners:

  • Artist of the Year: James Vann
  • Arts Educator of the Year: Andi Tomassi
  • Creative Contribution Enriching the Community: Florida Museum of Photographic Arts
  • Artist with a Heart: Doreen Donovan
  • Arts Activism: Debra Bryant and Barbara Schwabe
  • Arts Organization Executive of the Year: George Ann Bissett, Dunedin Fine Arts Center
  • Exhibit of the Year: The Salvador Dali Museum opening and children’s exhibits
  • Non-profit Creative Benefit to the Community: The Children’s Board of Hillsborough County and The Network of East Hillsborough Neighborhoods
  • Lifetime Achievement in the Arts: Gorilla Theatre
  • Development of the Arts in the Community: Plant City Photo Archives and History Center
  • Greatest Corporate Contribution: Bay Area Cardiology Associates
  • Performing Arts — Outstanding Contribution: Dave Loebig, founder of the Momentum Festival and Brandon Idol
  • The Visionary Award: Jan Kaminis Platt

The 8th annual Brush Strokes Awards for excellence in the arts honored creative and community achievement in 13 different categories.